SUBSCRIBE NOW AND WIN PRIZES, USEFUL TIPS AND MUCH MORE
 

DigitalPoint is under heavy Phishing attacks

Welcome! If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my Full RSS feed. You can also subscribe via Email and have posts delivered to your inbox. You also increase your chances to win prizes!

DigitalPoint(DP), a webmaster forum is under heavy phishing attacks!
It seems that some people are hacking accounts of DigitalPoint members by sending them unwanted Personal Messages (PMs).
The personal message(s) contain(s) a link to phishing site that looks just like DP! The link mentioned in the PMs look like a DigitalPoint thread link but lead to the phishing site!
The url of the phishing site is http://forums-digitalpoint.com/ .
Make sure that you do not enter into that site.
When a person enters the fake DP forum it prompts the person to enter their DigitalPoint login and after the person logs in the fake site grabs their login information and then redirects to the real DigitalPoint URL.
Examples of phishing message:
DigitalPoint Phishing PM Example

DigitalPoint Phishing PM Example
The most bad thing is that accounts of many members have been hacked till now!

What you can do?
You can forward the PM received to any of the moderators. I would recommend sending to Smyrl because she takes actions very quickly. :-)

What if you logged into the phishing site?
You should do the following:
1. Clear all your cookies because the phishing site might be placing a cookie to grab data i.e. Spyware Cookie .
2. Reset your password.
3. Get your new password in your email and use it.
Also run a spyware scan if possible.

I also got tricked for entering my login information into the fake phishing site but i was able to change my password in time. :-)
I hope that these attacks stop ASAP because those fake-phishing sites are exploiting DP!

I have reported the sites to their hosting(ofcourse the hosting was free) and they have replied that they will shut the sites down soon. I have also reported the domains to their registrars. :-) Let’s see what can be done.

Beware!

Update: It seems there is one more phishing site : http://digitalpoint.freeweb7.com/digitalpoint/

Stumble it!


Related Posts:

  • No related posts

  • If you enjoyed this post, please consider to leave a comment or subscribe to the feed and get future articles delivered to your feed reader.

    Bookmark and Share

    RSS | Trackback URI

    5 Comments »

    Comment by Andrea
    2008-01-21 18:22:22

    It would cost much less (time and efforts) if they simply make something good instead of ….

     
    Comment by Top Video
    2008-01-21 19:14:28

    oh! my god
    i received one PM like this
    ” asid_amin_o asid_amin_o is offline
    Banned

    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Posts: 30
    iTrader: (0)
    asid_amin_o is on a distinguished road
    Cool Guess the Number and WIN $1000
    http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=606921

    here is your chance to win $1000

    just guess a number between 1-2999

    no hidden charge

    Good luck all and I’ll post, as soon as I see the correct number posted!”
    the link above and status bar is different.i just know when reading this blog

    here is my screenshot
    http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/5695/mygodmm1.jpg
    Anyone be careful before click link.Always look at status bar

     
    Comment by Agni
    2008-01-21 19:17:41

    I only have 2 words for that spammer! “FUK YOURSELF!”

     
    Comment by Jerome
    2008-02-12 11:18:19

    Thank you for the post. Your warning and tips are useful not only for digitalpoint’s members, but also other forum’s member…I am very sure that those spammer will attack as many forum as they can.

     
    Comment by Laladadytarne
    2008-09-03 10:18:34

    hey :)
    its very unconventional point of view.
    Nice post.
    realy gj

    thx :-)

     
    Name (required)
    E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
    URI
    Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
    You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> in your comment.